Faith by Design

Darren Yeo
2 min readApr 15, 2022

--

A small contribution to a family church: I designed a brand identity. There are three crosses in blue, red and black.

The logo you see above was a design I did for my former family church, Hope Baptist Church, about a decade ago. The visual inspiration captures the scene at Calvary, where Jesus and two other criminals were nailed on the cross, as seen by the three crosses. The cross in black depicted one of the criminal, who mocked Jesus, calling upon Him to save Himself(Luke23:39). The other cross in blue was the other criminal, who acknowledged Jesus as the Christ, and pleaded that he will be remembered (Luke23:40-42). On that day, Jesus died for all of our sins, paying the price of sin with His blood on the cross. That cross is the red cross that stands in the middle. Through the visual identity, my hope was to be able to show the concept of sin, redemption and sanctification with the use of the symbolic elements and colours of the cross. It was also to show our choice of following God or self. More importantly, it was to show that Jesus was at the center of it all.

Before I designed the logo, I recalled having a conversation with a respectable architect, who once shared with me that his faith for Christ had led him to use his skills and profession to give back to God and his church. He went on to create the visual identity for his church, which has been used since the church was formed in 2010. His story gave me the determination to help the church brought me to Christ with their visual identity when they needed one. Today, those same visuals are still being used by the members in Hope Baptist Church.

There can be alternate paths in design that can go beyond profit. I’m glad to be a designer who can use my skills to contribute designs by faith, and will continue to be led by God to do so.

Wishing all a Good Friday and Happy Easter.

--

--

Darren Yeo

Design Innovator | UX/AI | Humanity-Centered Designer | SystemOps | Rethinking Design, Redesigning Thinking | Living, Breathing Experience